Soul Reason?

“And they ask you about the soul. Say: The soul is one of the commands of my Lord, and you are not given aught of knowledge but a little” (Al-Qura’an, Al-Israa’ 17: 85)

I have an image of my soul somewhere in the deep recesses of my mind. I know its probably concocted fiction; that the Soul is intangible, perhaps unimaginable. But I try, because human as I am, I am stubborn. The fact of some things being “beyond your imagination” alludes me. And so I try to give the very essence of my being a face. To me, that face is something ethereal- imagined and conceivable as it is. But can one understand something immortal? Are Souls beyond earthly comprehension? Something that has no beginning nor an end (Ibn Sina). Perhaps not.

They say fasting helps control the nafs, the blot on the Soul…That the greater struggle is getting a command over your nafs. So why not try to understand it?

Sometimes you meet people in life and you feel as if they were on a higher spiritual plane. I am not talking about rosaries and mere words. Something like a deeper connection. People who just uplift your spirit in an uncanny, je ne sais quoi kind of way. You can just see and feel sincerity in their very being; the words they speak are real- and their actions are guided by someone Higher. Its commonly said that “uss ke chahray per nur tha“, that the nur (light) on a person’s face lightens up his/her face. That seems true for some people, for their eyes sparkle with truth, and their words have an ethereal melody to them. And there are times when you just “click” with a person you just met. It’s just something about them that draws you towards them, like natural affinity.. A hadith I read a couple of days ago helped me understand this:

Souls are troops collected together and those who familiarized with each other (in the heaven from where these come) would have affinity, with one another (in the world) and those amongst them who opposed each other (in the Heaven) would also be divergent (in the world).” (Muslim)

_________________________

“We are not human beings having a spiritual experience. We are spiritual beings having a human experience” – Chardin.

Both East and West have tried to grasp the concept of an incorporeal Soul throughout the ages…The Greeks identified it as the very essence of a living being (Plato’s logos, thymos & eros); Ibn Sina viewed it as the final intellect; Decartes saw it as the supposition of his consciousness, while Thomas Aquinas stressed its immortality and incorporeality. Buddhism spoke of Anatta…

Here’s a poem I wrote a couple of months ago, and further below are links to poems I love:

Illuminare

A Soul tendrilled with fire,
Like a dragon’s searing breath.
Engulfed with flames of thought,
Electrons of restless ideas.

An inferno of desire,
Sparks of red and dust.
Tortured Soul, it leaps
Quenched with Faith and Higher.

Amazing Poems (Please share more!):

http://www.luminarium.org/sevenlit/marvell/dewdrop.htm

http://allspirit.co.uk/rumiworry.html

 http://enlightenedwisdom.blogspot.com/2010/06/seven-times-have-i-despised-my-soul.html

http://enlightenedwisdom.blogspot.com/2010/03/enter-this-house-my-love-or-let-me.html

12 thoughts on “Soul Reason?

  1. Wonderful post.
    There are some people that when they speak, their words have an attraction. This is a surreal phenomenon.

    May Allah guide us to the path of the righteous. Ameen.

    Nice picture 😀

  2. I am lost for words. The way you have built up your understanding of the Soul itself – simply awestruck I am 🙂

    And its absolutely true about people ‘clicking’ with you and your mental/spiritual ideas. You connect with them, and thus feel a sense of belonging. Like you are needed.
    Moreover, the concept of your soul remains as elusive as before, I believe, as you try to figure it out and look for ideas presented by everyone throughout the passage of time. Its best to ‘search’ for your ‘soul’ when you commune with God. Because that’s what it really is – its your connection. And I would not be able to express it in words. Maybe you can, and maybe you have, somewhere up there 🙂

    I loved your poem! So much emotion.
    And Rumi <3. Simply blown away!
    I'll hit back if I find something worth sharing! 🙂

    1. “Its best to ‘search’ for your ‘soul’ when you commune with God. Because that’s what it really is – its your connection” So true!

      Thank you, Amna <3…

  3. I’ve met people who seem like they’ve really transcended all the mundane inadequacies of our run-of-the-mill lives. I’ve found myself wishing I could be them, knowing somehow that it would be better if I could be like them.

    I love that Chardin quote and I think I agree with it. I don’t when we’ll ever (if ever) understand our souls, but the entire concept mystifies me.

Leave a Reply

